Whey & Wheat

by atrezzi

I’ve recently discovered the glory of raw milk and through this discovery I have concluded that one day I will own a jersey cow. It is just so delicious. I realize there are valid reasons for pasteurization and homogenization, but it is such a disservice to what milk really tastes like. Anyways, part of this experiment into raw milk was to make cheese. My mother inspired me, who was inspired by my Italian aunt, who was inspired by her very Italian mama, to make Ricotta Cheese. I was pleasantly surprised at just how easy it was and the ingredients are few. There are different recipe versions mainly in what agent is used to curdle the cream. I choose one that used lemon juice.
A by-product of making Ricotta Cheese is Whey (the liquid that is strained from the curds or cheese). With this whey, you can then make delicious homemade bread, which is exactly what I did.

The bread recipe was also fairly simple and didn’t require an entire day to make but my oh my is it ever delicious.

The real treat here is a slice of bread with a good spread of ricotta cheese and maybe some black pepper or a drizzle of olive oil. It’s so simple and so good. Today I made a second batch of ricotta and had more whey, which will store until my next bread baking adventure!
Ricotta recipe:  http://smittenkitchen.com/2011/06/rich-homemade-ricotta/

Italian (Whey) Bread:  http://eatingsmallpotatoes.wordpress.com/2009/01/03/italian-white-bread-made-with-whey/

They are both really quite the treat.
Cheers!

